

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Arthritis Action (the "Charity") held at the King's Fund Building, 11-13 Cavendish Square, London W1G 0AN on Thursday 9 June 2022

<u>Present</u> <u>In Attendance</u>

Council Members: Staff:

Robin Nye (Chair) Cerys Jones

Dan Torjussen-Proctor

Debbie Rose

Prof Sarah Vickerstaff

Shantel Irwin (Chief Executive)

Noha Al Afifi

Heather Baumohl-Johnson

Leah Boylan
Eoin Buckley
Margaret Daly
Sarah Gudgin
Wendy Holden
Martin Lau
Alison Lloyd
Debbie Putland
Iza Seabrook
Terry Urbanczyk
David Vaux
Graham Weir
Marc Williams

Plus 28 General Members

The Meeting opened at 11.30 am and, as there were over 25 Members present, it was deemed to be quorate in accordance with Article 7.8 of the Charity's Articles of Association.

1. Chair's Introductory Remarks

Robin Nye introduced himself as Chairman and welcomed everybody to the Meeting. He then provided a brief overview of the Charity's activities since the previous Annual General Meeting

2. Apologies

Robin Nye reported that he had received apologies from 6 Council Members and advised that a list of all Members who had given their apologies was available for inspection at the reception desk.

3. Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting

Robin Nye asked that the Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting on Thursday 10 June 2021, which had previously been circulated to Members, be approved as an accurate record of the Meeting.

Proposer: Jack Martin Seconder: Tony Godfrey

The proposal was carried unanimously, and the Minutes of the Meeting were signed by Robin Nye.



4. Trustees' Report and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 October 2021

Robin Nye asked that The Trustees' Report and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 October 2021 and the accompanying Independent Auditor's Report be adopted.

Proposer: Raina Levy Seconder: Jack Martin

The proposal was carried unanimously.

Appointment of the Auditors and authorisation of Council Members to agree their fees

Robin Nye asked the Members present to agree the appointment of LMDB Accountants as Auditors until the conclusion of the next Annual General Meeting and authorise the Council Members to agree their fees for the year ending 31 October 2022.

Proposer: Deborah Breakspear Seconder: Richard Wagner

The proposal was carried unanimously.

6. Election of Council Members appointed by Trustees since the last AGM

Robin Nye advised that during the year the Council Members appointed Tom McLaughlan and Dan Torjussen-Proctor to the Council of Management. Therefore, in accordance with Article 8.5 of the Charity's Articles of Association, Tom McLaughlan and Dan Torjussen-Proctor now offer themselves for re-election by the Members for a three-year term of office. It was also explained that in accordance with Article 8.4 of the Charity's Articles of Association persons standing for election to the Council of management must be proposed and seconded by existing Council Members.

Proposer: Cerys Jones Seconder: Deborah Rose

The proposal was carried unanimously.

7. Re-Election of Council Members

Robin Nye explained that due to other commitments, Anne Godfrey, who joined the Council of Management in June 2015, had recently decided not to seek re-election for a third term. He advised that over the last six and a half years, Anne had made a significant contribution to Arthritis Action's governance and strategy. He thanked her for her contribution and wished her well for the future.

In accordance with Article 8.7 of the Charity's Articles of Association, Cerys Jones and Sara Jones retire after serving their latest three-year terms and offer themselves for re-election for a further three years.

Proposer: Sarah Vickerstaff Seconder: Dan Torjussen-Proctor

The proposal was carried unanimously.



8. Any Other Relevant Business

None.

9. Date of the 2022 Annual General Meeting

Robin Nye advised that arrangements for the next Annual General Meeting have still to be finalised but it would probably once again be held at the King's Fund Building on either Monday 19th or 23rd June 2023.

10. Close

There being no further business, Robin Nye declared the Meeting closed at 11.50pm.